The Bowring Park Foundation (BPF) recently partnered with the City of St. John’s to cost-share 50/50 the conversion and realignment of the roadway adjacent to the Bungalow. The pavement on the south side of the loop has been widened and repaved to permit two-way traffic. The road on the north side of the loop is now restricted to pedestrian use only. During the summer, an electronically operated security gate will be installed at the East Entrance to minimize the vehicular traffic in the park. The Foundation will contribute approximately $120,000 to this project, the purpose of which is to enhance the pedestrian experience in Bowring Park.
The Bowring Park Foundation was established on April 18, 1995, as a not-for-profit organization under the patronage of Derrick Bowring, a relative of Sir Edgar Bowring. Sir Edgar donated the park land to the City of St. John's in 1911 on behalf of Bowring Brothers Ltd. on their 100th anniversary of commerce in Newfoundland.
In cooperation with the City of St. John’s, The Bowring Park Foundation is a Citizens group formed to ensure, through active participation in restoration and future development projects, that Bowring Park is maintained and developed as a public park for quiet family enjoyment for the citizens of the region.